The Rewrite Of Pond Water Prince

My Dear Future Readers:

Today, I want to talk about rewrites.

What are rewrites?

Rewrites are edits that you do and you rework the plot in a different way. Recently, I have been working on rewrites for a chapter  in Book 1: Forbidden Love. Trust me, it’s better the way I rewrote it. But that is not the point of this post. Not at all.

I want to tell you about my favorite evil doer.  Why? Because, every book has an evil doer and some may not be evil at first.  “Bad guys” are written to bring out the heroic attitude in the main character. I never thought that writing “bad guys ” could be fun.  But as I was rewriting a scene in one of my chapters,  I realized that  my character is really fun for me to rewrite because even though he is evil,  he makes me laugh.

As a result, I realized that for a villain to be great, his language has to be great as well. Which means that I as an author have to write dialogue that would fit my  “Mister Bad Guy” perfectly. Let me tell you that creating beautifully written dialogue for a villain is hard. But not impossible.

Pond Water Prince was my first book bad guy and he is special to me for that reason.  Going over the chapters that involve him is a special edit to me. I can tell you as an author who has completed Book 1 and 2 and yes out of those two books Pond Water Prince will always be special to me. Not only because he was my first person to create evil plots but also because of the challenge he gave me while I was writing about him. I had to overcome the standard bad guy model and create who was all my own and believable to my readers.

I had to think outside the box. After all, there are a lot of villains out there in the world of fairy-tales who have earned their place in our hearts. I knew that  my character had to be unique, therefore his motives had to be extraordinary.

“What does Pond Water Prince Want??”

 I thought  about this for a long time in the beginning of the chapter. My evil character had to be going after something so important to him that he would do anything to get it. Trust me, that was not easy to come up with at first but then I thought about my elderly grandparents – who were still alive at the time that I began my book – it became clear to me then. So, I wrote the first thought that came to mind.

Next thing I needed was the way he would achieve his goal. That was a little easier since a lot of people kidnapped people and it would be something real that anyone could relate to in my book. Of course, I have to say that having Pond Water Prince as a name was kind of funny to me at first but it fit him. So, I thought that what he did in the book would be able to grab my future readers. I mean, really….What do you think of when you hear the name Pond Water Prince? Is it a name that is associated with someone nice? Or is it a person you would run away from?

That’s how I usually choose names for my bad guys. So, you se that as an author I have to be careful about naming the characters properly or otherwise they lose the effect of a villain.  That’s why I love my first ever bad guy and I hope you will love to hate him too.

I look forward to hearing from you soon. I thank you all for your infinite support.

Yours Truly,

Diana Rose

YA Fantasy Romance Published Author

 

Published by

The Magic of True Love

Diana Rose is a Russian native who lives in New York. Her stories transport readers to the fantasy filled worlds where she brings royalty and magical beings to life, with colorful romantic scenes and characters that her imagination creates. She fuels her creativity while reading romantic novels. When Diana is not writing, she enjoys spending her time with her family and friends. You can find her on her Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/DianaRoseRomance

Leave a Reply

