A Passionate Play Reviewed by Diana Rose

jessica-lauryn-2

My Dear Future Readers:

I have read many romance novels in my time but this is my first time reading a Romantic Suspense genre.  This book was the first book I read from Jessica Lauryn. My first impression of this book when I started it was that Ms. Lauryn took the subject of the theatre and turned into something magical. The characters were extremely lifelike. This story took me through a journey of the onstage performance and what the actor’s life behind the curtain of the theater was like. Everything seemed simple but it was not as the story showed me what the main character, Alicia Coleman was truly like when she had lost her memory. Her feelings for Nick Lancaster at first when I first read about him in the first part of the book, are not simply love or hate, she showed confusion quiet vividly, I might say. It was apparent that Nick and Alicia have a very complex relationship. At times, their conversations made me laugh, made me feel angry that Alicia didn’t understand that Nick meant to protect her.

At other times, Nick’s way of caring for Alicia made me happy because it was clear that he loved her and he just had a hard time admitting it. It was fun to see in my mind the scenes that Ms Lauryn so vividly paints with her words. The Bear Scene was the most fun for me to read and it was really clear in my head as if I could see the bear charging at me as I try to escape the bear. The emotion of fear and terror was clearly portrayed. Also, the scenes with the attacker was quite emotional and scary, yes, scary. But this a part of a good author’s job to portray emotion and scenes as if they were happening to the reader right then.

As an author, myself, I learned a lot from the way Jessica Lauryn wrote her descriptions. Her description in every paragraph was different. It was like an adventure to me to read this book. Every turn of a page made me want to read more of it and I ended up reading two-three chapters in one day.  I was so intrigued by this first book that I purchased Book 2: An Amorous Dance even before I finished this book. I could not wait to start Book 2 in this series. Honestly, I was so entranced by Jessica Lauryn’s talent in pulling me into her world that I want to read more of her books and follow her example in developing my own writing in a way that will pull my future readers into my books.

Jessica Lauryn is my new favorite author and I hope to read all of her books. She is my inspiration for writing books that people love. It is a great honor for me to know her and how truly beautiful she is on the inside and out. My favorite author and I I am starting to read An Amorous Dance right away. I hope to follow her career as she writes more because she is my inspiration.

After reading A Passionate Play, I believe that there might be a great story behind it which is why I wanted to ask Jessica Lauryn for an interview. She will be talking about the story of how she wrote this book and her inspiration in writing in my next blog post. Writing series of books tends to be freeing at some point because you can address your characters from all sides and I believe that this comes much easier to Jessica Lauryn right now. But I do plan to use that example as well. She is also the reason why I feel that writing a series of books is something that I want to do.

Writing a series to me is like living with the same people for a long time and getting to know them well enough. A series is something that means that you can not leave the characters. It gives you more room to explore your characters and I believe that it is a good choice for authors like Jessica Lauryn and myself. I believe that it is a good thing for an author to love their characters a lot because then the readers will love them too.

I look forward to hearing from you soon. I thank you all for your infinite support.

Yours Truly,

Diana Rose

YA Fantasy Romance Published Author

Published by

The Magic of True Love

Diana Rose is a Russian native who lives in New York. Her stories transport readers to the fantasy filled worlds where she brings royalty and magical beings to life, with colorful romantic scenes and characters that her imagination creates. She fuels her creativity while reading romantic novels. When Diana is not writing, she enjoys spending her time with her family and friends. You can find her on her Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/DianaRoseRomance

One thought on “A Passionate Play Reviewed by Diana Rose”

Leave a Reply

