The Many Fears of the Author and What They Sound Like….

My Dear Future Readers,

Today, I spent time thinking hard about whether or not to write this post. Why? Because, I was afraid that baring out my heart to you now is wrong. But….I am finally sitting down to write this. Why? Because, I know that you will understand me more if I do. I am a person and not a robot without emotions. Which is also part of the reason why I am writing this post. Being a person, I do have emotions and yes one of those emotions is….You guessed it….Fear.

Fear and being afraid of something is normal for people. It is the fear of certain things that keeps us from doing something dangerous.

 Yes, I am afraid of many things. I tend to be afraid of new things too. New things are scary because you don’t know what is going to happen next. Fear of the unknown is common. It is this fear that keeps us from going forward in our plans.

To be honest with you, I have a lot of fears as a starting out author even though, I have never talked about them because I think that no one will accept them. Or accept me but, I am a person just like everyone else in this world. I have a right to be vulnerable for once in my life and yes, I am an author. I am an author who wants to relate to my public. In fact, I am absolutely certain you have fears of your own.

 I am scared that my books will not be interesting enough to the reader. Or that I will get bad reviews (every author is afraid of reviews).

I am afraid that I might not find enough inspiration to write. I have in fact had writer’s block many times over the years. I am thinking about the many different ideas in books that others put out there and sometimes I am afraid that their ideas are better. Yes, that is called self-doubt but…I am also a person. Yes, I got all A’s and B’s in school but here, if my book is bought and reviews are good then that is my “grade. ” It is the truth of life and yes, I am afraid.

As an author, I want my readers to be happy with what I publish and I am aware that not everyone will like my work. But….I have to try. On some days my fears and self-doubt become bigger than me but I always try to remember the bigger picture.

“I always remember the bigger picture that there are people waiting for my books to come out and that I can’t give up because I made a promise to get my book published.” – Diana Rose

 Being afraid of things like not having enough people to buy my books or reviews or that I won’t have enough ideas for my next book seem to be normal fears. I just don’t want to focus my mind only on my fears. Because, these fears can and will not bring me any good. It is not about the thoughts but about how you deal with them. I choose to deal with these fears as they come. I need to stop thinking about my fears before they eat me up inside.

To be honest, I got used to going forward despite my fears because I realized that my fears will bring me nowhere. I need to stop living as if someone is in doubt of me. I decided a long time ago that I have to do things despite my fears.

But the reason why I am writing this post is to encourage you and show you that even I can have fears in my head. But, I try to not listen to them so that I can do what I love to do. I LOVE to write and I intend to continue to do that no matter what my fears are saying. I’m an author and I will not stop writing just because I have fears.

Fear or no fear…Better no fear of course but still I mean, I just think that living in fear will get me nowhere so, I believe that all I can do is try harder.

Okay, so I was a little vulnerable in this post, I hope that you don’t mind it. I hope that I encouraged you not to be too scared not try doing what you love. Fear should never be bigger than your goals.

I look forward to hearing from you soon. I thank you all for your infinite support.

Yours Truly,

Diana Rose

YA Fantasy Romance Published Author

Published by

The Magic of True Love

Diana Rose is a Russian native who lives in New York. Her stories transport readers to the fantasy filled worlds where she brings royalty and magical beings to life, with colorful romantic scenes and characters that her imagination creates. She fuels her creativity while reading romantic novels. When Diana is not writing, she enjoys spending her time with her family and friends. You can find her on her Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/DianaRoseRomance

Leave a Reply

