My Writing Goals in 2017

My Dear Future Readers:

Today, I want to talk to you about my writing goals for….January. Because, let’s be real for a second, I can not say that the entire year will be smooth and happy. But, we can take it slow and focus on one month at a time.

I want to write everyday for a month to get back into the habit of doing it daily. I also plan to use this time to finish a few blog posts and a few chapters of a work in progress. It is at least what I want to do this month. Yes, I sometimes don’t feel like writing at all but I hope to change that because this is what keeps me  going. Yes, writing is the one thing that relaxes me so that I don’t have to think about real life.

Now, everyday for a month may seem like a lot to anyone, even me but it isn’t. Or at least I hope that it isn’t. I have a hard time with writing everyday and I admit it. It’s just that I sometimes have to force myself to do it and I don’t like doing that. Some days, I’m just tired or had a lot to do that day but I know in the back of my mind that I have not written anything that and so at the end of day when I should be getting ready for bed, I sit down and turn on my computer and start to write.

Yes, I write some days well after midnight and I am not ashamed of it. And now, about my goals….

Firstly, I want to write every day as I already said. Secondly, I want to write another few chapters and maybe get this new idea going. I hope to write at least 500 words each day that way I can get my idea developed. But the trouble is that sometimes I can write more if I am into a scene and the next day not write at all. Today, (January 5, 2017) I wanted to make sure that I finish this blog post so that tomorrow I could get back to my idea. Yes, I do write a lot and I AM an author. It is what I do best.

Anyway….My third goal is to record my word count everyday on my new word count tracker so that I stay motivated this month and I can use that motivation in February as well. January is always a beginning that is what I not always good at. Sometimes, I can stare at a blank page for hours and not know what I want to fill it with. Words, obviously! But what words and about what? I always tend to ask myself that ever since I started school and yes, I wrote what was asked of me but a blank page has too many possibilities if you know what I mean?

So , my fourth goal in relation to writing is to not stare at a blank page too long. Or, I risk not writing anything at all. My goal is to let the possible outcomes not overwhelm me at the time that I am sitting down to write. It is important that I let my ideas flow. I can fix whatever needs fixing later but I need to let my brain be free to see the blank page as an opportunity for more ideas to be written rather than freeze because I am intimated by the blank page itself.

These are my only goals for January. I’m sure that next month there will be other goals that I will with you.

I look forward to hearing from you soon. I thank you all for your infinite support.

Yours Truly,

Diana Rose

YA Fantasy Romance Published Author

Published by

The Magic of True Love

Diana Rose is a Russian native who lives in New York. Her stories transport readers to the fantasy filled worlds where she brings royalty and magical beings to life, with colorful romantic scenes and characters that her imagination creates. She fuels her creativity while reading romantic novels. When Diana is not writing, she enjoys spending her time with her family and friends. You can find her on her Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/DianaRoseRomance

Leave a Reply

