Thoughts for the Year Ahead

My Dear Future Readers,

2017 has already begun and I want to share with you some of my thoughts as I start the year. I got up and turned on my computer today and my first thought was that: I have not written anything today yet. I have to find something that I can write today. So, I searched through my computer files and when I did not find anything that was worth writing, I decided to write mmy thoughts down in another blog post.

That thought surprised me though. I was always good at writing but not good at being motivated. Now, motivation has different meanings in itself. You can be motivated to achieve a high score on an exam or to run everyday or to eat healthy. But last year, I realized that I have not been really motivated to write everyday. In fact, the only time I did write everyday was in November. Which was a great achievement in itself for me.

Now, as I start my second year in being a full-time author, I realize that being motivated has a lot do with being organized. Last year, I got a word count tracker…..I LOVE THOSE THINGS!! It helps me see how much I write each day which helps me to stay organized.

Whoa!!! My SECOND YEAR as a Full-Time Author!! I can’t believe it!!!! I think to myself.

“Believe it,” the other people around me said.

“But, it’s…..like a dream,” I said. In fact, it seemed like a dream to me all this time. I can barely believe that on January 1st of 2016, I made the decision to become a full-time author. And now, I made another important decision which is to write everyday and keep myself motivated.

But, there will be days when I am unmotivated. What? I’m human! I can be unmotivated too.

“Yes, but…you made a promise just now,” my brain says.

“I realize that….but…..” I say not knowing how to justify myself for the future.

“NO buts! You always keep your promises. You are a full time author and you will act like it,” my brain says.

I sigh and nod. Yes, I suppose that is true and I should at least try it. I mean, I do have the word count tracker. I’m just being a bit doubtful right now is all. But I am writing my second blog post in a row so I guess, it isn’t so hard. I just need to take it one day at a time. Right? Right! I finally think.

This year, I want everything to be different. I learned alot of things from last year about motivation and I will try to fix all that this year. I feel better when I am writing and that I should keep doing. It is about being able to have discipline enough to do this every day even if I don’t blog every day.

Today, I know that I am more ready to be responsible for my motivation and organization and I know that this demands attention no matter which way you put it. Writing demands time and thought. It is what I love to do. This is the day that I want to do better and I know that I will respect myself for it later.

Yesterday was the start of a new year and I feel like for the first time in many years, 2017 started the way that I always wanted it to…with writing. I don’t know what anyone thinks or care but this the BEST way that a year could have ever started for me. Which is why I am so motivated this year to continue writing everyday.

2017 was exactly the push I needed and now, I can only continue what I started. I’m sure that slowly my progress will show and that is what makes me happy right now. That is why I have decided to be a full-time author to not let my creativity frizzle out and wilt. But, now more than ever, I can see that effect start to happen. That is what makes me happy even more.

I look forward to hearing from you soon. I thank you all for your infinite support.

Yours Truly,

Diana Rose

YA Fantasy  Romance Published Author

Published by

The Magic of True Love

Diana Rose is a Russian native who lives in New York. Her stories transport readers to the fantasy filled worlds where she brings royalty and magical beings to life, with colorful romantic scenes and characters that her imagination creates. She fuels her creativity while reading romantic novels. When Diana is not writing, she enjoys spending her time with her family and friends. You can find her on her Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/DianaRoseRomance

Leave a Reply

