Trying to Win But No Win at NaNoWriMo

My Dear Future Readers:

Today, I want to talk to you about trying. Yes, trying. I consider myself to be a good writer when it comes to writing books.I believe that in the time that I have been writing and editing my book, Book 1: Forbidden Love in my Power of Love Series, I have learned a lot about writing and I decided to try write a novel for National Novel Writing Month this year. Of course, I knew that writing 50, 000 words would not be easy. Especially, to write that much in a month. But I wanted to try. I thought that doing National Novel Writing Month would make me a better writer or at least a faster writer.

As I started the month of November, I was not so confident that I could do it because in the previous two years I did not even get to write everyday. I was too consumed by my college classes to have the time to write everyday. This year, I thought that even if I do not win, at least I want to try to write as much as I can and everyday.

So, that was exactly what I did. I started to write everyday. I wanted to prove to myself that I could do this. Everyday, for a few hours a day, I wrote a few hundred words. I was getting close to the end of the month and I was determined to win this year. However, the word count of the website did not measure my words the way that I wrote them or I wrote too little words a day. I ended up not winning in NaNoWriMo.

However, I did write almost four full chapters of my new idea. Four chapters is a good start. Yes, my story is still in the early stages of development but November has been a good push in the right direction. At least now I can say that I wrote four chapters and I wrote them everyday for 30 days. Before this November, I could not even say that I write everyday.

No, I did not win. But I have plans for next year to try again. I feel accomplished. I also have had a lot of support from my fellow writers who also took part in this contest. I feel like if I can write everyday for a month, I will be able to finish my books faster than I did before. Which is also a reason why I tried to do National Novel Writing Month. Of course, I might not aim so high as I did in November but at least I will be able to write three or four chapters in a month, with breaks of course. If that will make me more productive then I will try it.

Being a full-time author means that I should find time to write everyday. I found time during November to write three or four hours a day and I have four chapters to show for it. I want to do that everyday for a longer period of time. The National Novel Writing Month in November was a good idea to push me towards the realization that I need to write more. Write blog posts, ideas, thoughts and more books. Now, I need to implement this idea into reality.

I look forward to hearing from you soon. I thank you all for your infinite support.

Yours Truly,

Diana Rose

YA Fantasy Romance Published Author

Leave a comment