Trying to Win But No Win at NaNoWriMo

My Dear Future Readers:

Today, I want to talk to you about trying. Yes, trying. I consider myself to be a good writer when it comes to writing books.I believe that in the time that I have been writing and editing my book, Book 1: Forbidden Love in my Power of Love Series, I have learned a lot about writing and I decided to try write a novel for National Novel Writing Month this year. Of course, I knew that writing 50, 000 words would not be easy. Especially, to write that much in a month. But I wanted to try. I thought that doing National Novel Writing Month would make me a better writer or at least a faster writer.

As I started the month of November, I was not so confident that I could do it because in the previous two years I did not even get to write everyday. I was too consumed by my college classes to have the time to write everyday. This year, I thought that even if I do not win, at least I want to try to write as much as I can and everyday.

So, that was exactly what I did. I started to write everyday. I wanted to prove to myself that I could do this. Everyday, for a few hours a day, I wrote a few hundred words. I was getting close to the end of the month and I was determined to win this year. However, the word count of the website did not measure my words the way that I wrote them or I wrote too little words a day. I ended up not winning in NaNoWriMo.

However, I did write almost four full chapters of my new idea. Four chapters is a good start. Yes, my story is still in the early stages of development but November has been a good push in the right direction. At least now I can say that I wrote four chapters and I wrote them everyday for 30 days. Before this November, I could not even say that I write everyday.

No, I did not win. But I have plans for next year to try again. I feel accomplished. I also have had a lot of support from my fellow writers who also took part in this contest. I feel like if I can write everyday for a month, I will be able to finish my books faster than I did before. Which is also a reason why I tried to do National Novel Writing Month. Of course, I might not aim so high as I did in November but at least I will be able to write three or four chapters in a month, with breaks of course. If that will make me more productive then I will try it.

Being a full-time author means that I should find time to write everyday. I found time during November to write three or four hours a day and I have four chapters to show for it. I want to do that everyday for a longer period of time. The National Novel Writing Month in November was a good idea to push me towards the realization that I need to write more. Write blog posts, ideas, thoughts and more books. Now, I need to implement this idea into reality.

I look forward to hearing from you soon. I thank you all for your infinite support.

Yours Truly,

Diana Rose

YA Fantasy Romance Published Author

Published by

The Magic of True Love

Diana Rose is a Russian native who lives in New York. Her stories transport readers to the fantasy filled worlds where she brings royalty and magical beings to life, with colorful romantic scenes and characters that her imagination creates. She fuels her creativity while reading romantic novels. When Diana is not writing, she enjoys spending her time with her family and friends. You can find her on her Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/DianaRoseRomance

Leave a Reply

