Author Lesson #8: Author Education

My Dear Future Readers:

Today, I want to talk about Author Education. It sounds funny, doesn’t it? Author Education….Sounds like a silly thing. Do Authors have special schools or colleges where a major can say: Authors and Editors: How to write a book in the correct format for publication. Yes, you are probably laughing like I would have laughed long ago.

Books

But Author Education is just like any other type of education there is. You need to read specific books designed for the field of study you are in. Of course, there are no tests and no grades. No one to check how well you know what you read except for you. You need to apply what you read to your writing and that is the only sure way to know if you have studied well enough to use what you know.

Many starting out authors lack the knowledge that in order to succeed in any profession and thereby become a Professional in the Writing and Publishing World. But I think that since I am a starting out author, I needed a little push-shall I say to be on the same level as the well-known author who are Best-Sellers. That is why I try to read as much about writing as I can so I can do a better job of writing my books.

After all, life is about always going forward and learning as much as you can. I love what I do. I love the idea of writing everyday. I know that I have a long way to go before I become a well-known author but I know that I will get there. Author Education is about improving what you have been working hard at. It is about learning more about how to make your writing better. Nothing is made overnight but if you put put the effort in it is worth it.

Author Education is a type of self-education that no one can teach you in school. Why? Well, in school children are taught things like English, Math, Science, History. Teachers are not skilled in writing. So, if you want to learn how to be an author, YOU need to educate yourself.

HOW do you educate yourself in the art of being an author?

Well I found a way to do that. I figured out something…..not all bookstores sell books on writing and how to write better. Not every library has a clear guide to how to write clearer. It was up to me to find the reading materials I needed. Yes, maybe this too will sound funny to you, but I went online to Amazon.com and started to do research on books about writing different kinds of scenes, editing, and how to become a successful author.

It is with these different books that I started to learn the things that Best-Selling authors already knew. I also found books on marketing and other such books. Yes, I plan on reading them and rereading them for information that I don’t know. After all, I am just starting to become an author.

Now……I say that I am a full-time author all the time. But what does a full-time author mean exactly?

That’s a good question. Honestly, I’m still figuring it out. The only I know is that a full-time author writes. Yes, that might seem funny to you but yes, writing is what makes an author. Also, what I learned is that an author has to maintain a website and yes, a blog is a website.

Writing on the blog is what I do to keep my audience reading my writing. My blog is like a preview of my style of writing. No, I don’t write and publish posts everyday but I try my best to not let my blog go without a post for months. I want you to know that finding something to write about on my blog is not easy. Every time I sit down to write on my blog it feels like all the topics I could have written about were already written in my other posts. But I still seem to find something to write about……MAGICALLY.

Another part of being a full-time author is editing your work. Let me tell you, editing is serious work and time consuming. It is essential for publishing a good book that you can be proud of. An Author Lesson #2: Editing is WORK in this blog post I explain detail what the editing process is. It’s not as scary as it sounds. But it is a big part of being a full-time author.

Being a full-time author means that you can devote all your time to writing, editing and promoting your books on your blog and online. It is quite fun once you get used to the Public Eye.

I always love reading and learning about writing but most of all I love my readers and posting new blog posts for them. I love to edit my writing as much as I love writing because editing is also very educational for me as a new author.

I look forward to hearing from you soon. I thank you all for your infinite support.

Yours Truly,

Diana Rose

YA Fantasy Romance Published Author

Published by

The Magic of True Love

Diana Rose is a Russian native who lives in New York. Her stories transport readers to the fantasy filled worlds where she brings royalty and magical beings to life, with colorful romantic scenes and characters that her imagination creates. She fuels her creativity while reading romantic novels. When Diana is not writing, she enjoys spending her time with her family and friends. You can find her on her Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/DianaRoseRomance

Leave a Reply

