An Author’s Lesson #3: Creating an OUTLINE

My Dear Future Readers:

Today, I have learned a very important lesson. A lesson that I did not expect to learn. I thought that the outlines that authors create for their books are not my style. I was used to just writing as I go. Now, I thought outlines were just a waste of time and now it looks like I may have to go back on that opinion and start outlining my projects. It may be a very long and tedious thing but I must grow out of my habits and take into account what is best for my books.

Of course, outlining an idea is not easy and especially for a person who is not used to outlining anything, it may seem impossible. But that is what makes writers great is that they can take an idea like an outline and turn it into something extremely creative.

Lesson # 3: Creating an Outline:

∼Outlining like an Author

Now, your our outline does need to follow any kinds of rules. It can be anything you want it to be. It can have pictures, drawings, sticky notes for notes on ideas, even slides. Be creative but also be able to read what you wrote.

I use PowerPoint for outlining because it allows me to add pictures to my outline and I can see who the character is as well as what I wrote about them.

You can also use sticky note later after PowerPoint slides are printed and set aside. If you find something that you want to add, you don’t have to go on your computer-just use a sticky note and arrow to show where the change happens. This takes some of the tedious computer and typing work out of the outline. Make a poster of it and have it on the floor where all thew slides are taped to a big poster board. You can make doodles on the poster board too.

⇒ I did not really finish my outline yet so I did not even get to print out my slides yet.

Outlines are meant to show main points of your story but it does not mean that an outline can’t be detailed to the minimal detail.

 

PART 2 of this post will be coming soon after I finish my version 1 of my outline.

It is amn important and tedious task which is why it takes time. But as I go along, I am learning many things which I have started to share with you here. In part 2 you will see how completing an outline has changed my way of creativity and enhanced my creativity by 1000 %.

Please look for part 2 coming soon……

I look forward to hearing from you. I thank you all for your infinite support.

Yours Truly,

Diana Rose

Diana Rose Author Page

YA Fantasy Romance PUBLISHED  Author

Published by

The Magic of True Love

Diana Rose is a Russian native who lives in New York. Her stories transport readers to the fantasy filled worlds where she brings royalty and magical beings to life, with colorful romantic scenes and characters that her imagination creates. She fuels her creativity while reading romantic novels. When Diana is not writing, she enjoys spending her time with her family and friends. You can find her on her Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/DianaRoseRomance

Leave a Reply

